Let’s Build a Culture of Love

LOVE is a radical act.

Given the Orlando shootings, the Brexit vote, and the general current of racism, homophobia, and xenophobia running rampant in the West, I’m gob-smacked.

Simply floored.

I’ve abstained from openly writing about our current cultural meltdown given that it’s best for me to let things simmer before putting in my two cents. As of today, my metaphorical soup has reached equilibrium, so I’m putting in my two cents.

Warring factions have roamed the landscape since time immemorial. Tribal conflicts paved the way for national conflicts paved the way for terrorist and legislative conflicts. Uniting against a common enemy is one of the quickest and effective ways to mobilize, and parties concerned usually have a 50/50 chance of victory–not bad odds.  I understand why the paradigm exists as it does. I understand why people support the interests of the group to which they identify. I understand why some feel threatened by diversity, and why some feel it necessary to make poor decisions to prevent it. Understanding all this, I DO NOT condone it. Not one little bit, and I never will.

As a witch/lightworker/meditator, I rise every day with the conviction that I will do everything I can to be tolerant, loving, and kind. I dedicate myself to being the change I want to see in the world, and it isn’t easy. Some days (like today), I feel like Sisyphus pushing a rock up an interminably steep incline. Some days, I question the relevance of sitting in silence while Donald Trump wages a farcical, hateful campaign. Some days I question my political inaction, my reticence to embroil myself in the debate. Apathy can weigh just as heavily as action–we see this reflected in US voter turn-out numbers. But the truth is, I don’t want to find myself identifying so strongly with a faction that it clouds my action and judgement. I’m naturally wary of group dynamics; I think it’s safe to say that all of us, at one time or another, have done something that was out of alignment with our values because of peer pressure. And as my mind circles around these doubts and mixed feelings and pain and helplessness, I find center in this thought: Not me. Not today.

There are groups waging war against one another because of religious differences. Not me. Not today. There are those who are so possessed by fear and doubt that they strike out violently and ruthlessly. Not me. Not today.  There are those whose ignorance leads them to make decisions that are not in their or other’s best interests. Not me. Not today. There are prominent figures who manipulate constituencies with rhetoric and false promises. Not me. Not today.

Today, I choose tolerance. I choose to send messages of love to those who are lost, to those who are too scared, unsure, and empty to send messages of love to others. When you can stand in the presence of your enemy and express loving kindness, you ARE the change the world needs. It’s a tough fight and it’s a rough and tumble dialogue and feelings are hurt and lives are changed and people are upset and that’s okay.  I often fail to reach this ideal, and that’s okay too. It’s the daily resolve to give it your best shot that makes all the difference, and if each of us could spend a portion of the day dedicated to kindness, the world would blossom from the ground up. A little goes a long way, and I’m so lucky and grateful to be party to so many kind words, sentiments, and actions from the amazing people in my community.

I send love and light to you all. I have faith in Us.

Jessi

 

Intrigued? Click here to work with me.

Leave a Reply

